Hi 16° | Lo -11°

Voter turnout low for Charlemont

CHARLEMONT — Perhaps the lack of contests — or even candidates to fill all the town offices — were factors in the low turnout for the town’s annual election. But all incumbents whose names were on the ballot were easily re-elected by the 121 voters who came to the polls Tuesday.

Selectman David Cunningham will serve a second term in office, and was among the highest vote-getters with 103 votes. Hawlemont School Committee Chairwoman Ivy Palmer, Board of Health Chairman Robert Lingle, and Assessor Pamela Wilder were also re-elected to three-year terms.

Incumbent Moderator Charlotte Dewey was re-elected for another one-year term by write-in votes. She received 14 votes to 6 write-in votes for Bob Handsaker.

Planning Board Chairwoman Gisela Walker was re-elected for a five-year term; Mohawk School Committee incumbent Evelyn Locke, health board incumbent Douglas Telling and Parks and Recreation Committee member Sarah Reynolds were all elected to two-year terms. Stephen Reynolds was re-elected to tree warden, which is a one-year post.

Write-in candidates who won seats on town boards are: Ron Smith, for a three-year term on the Board of Health; Tyler Library Trustee Vivian Conant (three years); Parks and Recreation board, Tom Shields, for a five-year term; and Constable Bill Harker, for a three-year term.

The town has 779 registered voters, so the turnout was about 15 percent.

Vacant seats for which there were no write-in candidates were two Planning Board seats, a two-year term and a three-year associate member’s position; and a one-year Charlemont (Hawlemont) School Committee post.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.