Hi 25° | Lo 5°

Assessors race tops Deerfield election

SOUTH DEERFIELD — Two candidates are seeking one of the most important jobs in town.

Henry Komosa Jr. of 304 Greenfield Road and Francis G. Sobieski of 64 Whately Road are vying for a three-year term on the Board of Assessors.

Sobieski is a certified public accountant who farms part-time.

Komosa has served as a volunteer in different capacities in town. He is a contractor. Komosa is also seeking a seat on the Planning Board.

The annual town election is Monday at the Deerfield Town Hall from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The election marks the changing of the guard on the often controversial board that sets property values in town.

Longtime Assessor Bruce St. Peters is not seeking re-election. And David Rohrs resigned effective election day. The Board of Selectmen is expected to appoint a member to take Rohrs’ seat on May 7.

The only remaining member is John Coderre.

Several people have asked to be appointed, Selectmen Chairman Mark Gilmore said.

The town will need two certified assessors on the board to set the tax rate in the fall.

In the past, the board has come into conflict with local farmers. Last year, 156 people signed a citizens’ petition circulated by local farmers and land owners that asked the assessors to use the state land value rates for farmland instead of the higher town rates.

At this year’s town meeting, local farmers asked the town to stop imposing a tax on farm animals and machinery. Townspeople backed the idea.

The other contested seat is elector under the Oliver Smith Will. John Baronas Jr., Robert Decker III and Leonard Grybko Jr. are competing for the one-year term.

Selectman David Wolfram is also seeking his first full three-year term on the board. He secured the seat in a special election last September, filling the spot for the remainder of Elizabeth Clarke’s term, after she resigned.

Decker is also seeking another three-year term on the Frontier School Committee.

Kenneth Cuddeback is seeking an additional three-year term on the Deerfield School Committee.

Peter James is seeking another three-year term as town moderator.

Roger Sadoski Jr. is seeking re-election to the Planning Board.

Sharyn A. Paciorek is seeking a three-year term as the Tilton Library trustee.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.