Gleason replaces McLatchy as selectman

ROWE — Rowe Library Director Susan Gleason will replace Selectman Paul McLatchy III after besting him 117-66 in Saturday’s annual town election.

Rowe saw a 67 percent turnout in the election, with 189 of 283 voters casting ballots.

The selectmen’s race was the only contest on the ballot.

Wayne Zavotka, a write-in candidate, won a three-year open term on the Finance Committee.

Robert Dykeman, ran as a write-in candidate for his own re-election to another five-year term. Dykeman said he wasn’t going to run for re-election, but after no one else came forward to run, he decided to seek another term.

Voters also wrote in Dan Burke’s name for the position. He received 13 votes to Dykeman’s 48.

Dykeman was also elected to a five-year Planning Board seat.

The following incumbents were re-elected. All are for three-year terms unless otherwise stated:

Board of Health member David Cousineau, Cemetery Commissioner James Williams, Library Trustee Claudine Poplawski; Moderator Robert Clancy; Park Commissioner Bruce Cowie (five-year term), School Committee Chairwoman Lisa Miller, School Committee member (one-year term) Cynthia Laffond, Tax Collector Sandra Daviau and Treasurer (one-year term) Donna Flagg.

Cousineau was also elected to a three-year term on the Board of Health.

Myriam Bennet Carlow and Dan Poplawski were each elected to one-year Finance Committee terms.

The ballot included two questions on whether voters favor changing the elected town treasurer and tax collector positions to appointed terms. However, these questions became moot, because one of these questions was defeated by annual town meeting voters on Monday, and the second article was tabled.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.