Hi 39° | Lo 19°

Colrain incumbents seeking re-election

COLRAIN — Several incumbents who were undecided about running for re-election have thrown their hats back into the ring, and are on the May 5 ballot. Also, two library trustee seats are up for grabs.

Selectman Eileen D. Sauvageau will be seeking her second three-year term. Other incumbents who hope to return to office for another three years are: Mohawk Trail Regional School District Committee member Joseph M. Kurland; assessor Jonathan Lagreze and constable Scott Sullivan.

Library trustees Paula Harrison and Michael Friedlander are not seeking re-election, so there are two vacant three-year terms that are open for candidates.

The ballot includes two debt exclusion questions, to see if residents will allow the town to exempt from Proposition 2½ the town’s share of a capital projects loan to cover “Phase 1” repairs for both Colrain Central School and for Colrain’s share of repairs for the Mohawk Trail Regional School.

Tuesday is the last day for residents to register to vote in the annual election. Also, those who want to participate in the town’s May 6 annual town meeting must register to vote by Wednesday. Town Clerk Robin Hartnett will hold voter registration hours both days, from 2 to 4 p.m. and from 7 to 8 p.m.

There are no election contests among those candidates who filed in time for their names to be printed on the ballot. However, there could be write-in candidates announced later.

The Colrain Library Association will host a candidates’ night on April 23, from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the Griswold Memorial Library. Hartnett is hoping that anyone interested in running as a write-in for office will come to candidates’ night, and make their candidacy known.

You can reach Diane Broncaccio at: dbronc@recorder.com or 413-772-0261, ext. 277

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.