Montague Democrats to caucus April 10

TURNERS FALLS — Montague Democrats will hold their caucus to select candidates for town office on April 10 from 6:30 to 7 p.m. in the first-floor Meeting Room of the Town Offices, 1 Avenue A. Successful candidates receive the party nomination to appear on the May 19 town election ballot.

Only registered Democrats may run in this caucus. Democrats who wish to run must deliver their intention in writing to Democratic Town Committee Chairman Jay DiPucchio by 5 p.m., March 31. Notice may be by mail, email or in hand.

Individuals choosing to run without Democratic party nomination should check rules with the town clerk. Occasionally, candidates for the caucus nomination also gather signatures for nomination through the town clerk process so that they can still appear on the May ballot if they are defeated at the caucus.

By the Democratic Town Committee’s vote following the 2003 caucus, registered unenrolled voters also may vote in the Democratic caucus. No absentee balloting is allowed. All caucus candidates must be present at the end of balloting (or make other arrangements with the chair) or their election may not be certified.

Below are incumbents whose terms are up. Terms are for three years unless otherwise stated.

Selectman Michael Nelson, Assessor Paul J. Emery, Health Board member Michael Nelson, Park and Recreation Commissioner Dennis L. Grader, Library Trustees Alice J. Armen, Sharon E. Cottrell and Steven L.Winters, Soldier Memorial Trustee (veteran) Larry Parker, Soldier Memorial Trustees (non-veteran) Christopher Boutwell and Donald Girard (one year), Montague Housing Authority member Stanley Zera (five years).

For more information call DiPucchio at 863-8656.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.