Tech School grads told to retain their passion, never mind the hiccups

  • Franklin County Technical School seniors at the begining of graduation ceremonies at GCC Friday night. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Mortarboard fun at Franklin County Technical School graduation. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Franklin County Technical School graduate wears his colors on Friday at GCC. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Franklin County Technical School graduate is heading for the Air Force. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Franklin County Technical School seniors walk into graduation ceremonies at Greenfield Community College. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Franklin County Technical School happy seniors at graduation at GCC on Friday night. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Franklin County Technical School graduate Delaney Ellen Shepherd blows bubbles at graduation on Friday night. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Franklin County Technical School graduates head into graduation ceremonies at GCC. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

  • Franklin County Technical School graduate Gabriel David Vorce heads in to graduation on Friday night. Recorder Staff/Paul Franz

Recorder Staff
Monday, June 06, 2016


GREENFIELD — Life is short. If your heart is telling you to do something, go out and do it before it’s too late.

That’s the advice Nick “Sunshine” Tokman, who starred on Discovery Channel’s ” Deadliest Catch,” gave to 122 Franklin County Technical School graduates under an enormous tent on the Greenfield Community College grounds Friday evening. Tokman, of West Springfield, told the Class of 2016 during his commencement address that if they live to age 85 with no “hiccups” along the way, then they have 24,485 days left of good living, and they should make the best of it.

He also spoke about regret, telling the graduates he doesn’t regret most of the risks he’s taken in his life.

“I do not regret going up to Alaska, looking for work, running out of money, staying in a homeless shelter, trying to get any job I could get my hands on — I do not regret that,” he said.

He said he also doesn’t regret streaking through the Holyoke Mall parking lot at age 18 — although he warned the group similar activities could land them on the sex offender list — or not staring at his television, cell phone or tablet 24/7.

“Life is absolutely really short, and I remember my graduation day like it was yesterday,” he said. “I would say that if there is something in your heart that is really important to you, I would do it before it’s too late.”

During Valedictorian Hailey Lowell’s speech, she recalled the first day of freshman year, when the students from 19 towns were united for the first time. That class, she said, has grown in many ways, as students learned to master their various trades and then mentored those who came after them.

Salutatorian Kaitlin Churchill urged her classmates not only to survive, but to thrive during her speech — and to do so with passion, compassion, humor and style.

“Passion is a quality that Franklin County Tech students never lack,” she said, later adding, “I’m so amazed every day by our accomplishments.”


Jared Michael Brothers — Deerfield

Vanessa Elizabeth Rachael Cannon — Orange

Briar-Rose Colon — Orange

Lydia Rebecca Dodge — Buckland

Victoria Rose Howes — Orange

Lindsey Marie Mailloux — Erving

Destiny Amber McDonough — Whately

Hailey Margaret Perkins-McGraw — Ashfield

Areyon Octavia-Marie Politis — Greenfield

Allyson Belle Rainbow Renaud — Montague

Yarelis Nicole Santana — Montague

Ciara Nicole Staiger — Montague


Jarod Charles Brown — Montague

Laurel Ariana Cooke — Warwick

Steven Anthony Easton — Bernardston

Kyle James Burke Gray — Northfield

Mitchell Edward Mailloux — Erving

Dustin James Mallette — Orange

Emily Kate Maselli — Wendell

Christopher Peter Porrovecchio — Bernardston

Tanner James Richardson — Montague

Seth Curtis Rider — Greenfield

Delaney Ellen Shepherd — Colrain

Gabriel David Vorce — Orange

Culinary Arts

Fallyn Elizabeth Adams — Gill

Brittany Alexis Andrews — New Salem

James Joseph Barcomb — Jacksonville, VT

Alix Rosalin Burnett — Erving

Emily Rose Giguere — Colrain

Tala Aiyana Houle — Greenfield

Emily Marie Jamieson — Greenfield

Alexander MacKenzie McBurnie — Orange

Corey Jacob Mitchell — Orange


Jacob John-Edward Armentrout — Orange

Daniel Scott Chabott II — — Northfield

Jeremy John Durant — Deerfield

Dylan Wesley Knowles — Orange

Brett Tyler Roberts — Colrain

Nikolas Christopher Skiathitis — Northfield

Derek Thomas Vaughn — Greenfield

Samantha Lynne Watson — Orange

Machine Technology

Jacob Ross Amidon — Montague

Zachary Lee Barker — Sunderland

Jonathan Hunter Boston — Northfield

Brandon James Boudah — Deerfield

Adam Patrick Brennan — Northfield

Andrew Nathaniel Goodwin, Jr. — Northfield

Hailey Rita Lowell — Wendell

James Joseph Miller — Greenfield

Timothy William Momaney — Montague

Eric Baines Osman — Heath

Justin Alan Thompson — Orange


Nicholas James Baranoski — Greenfield

Hunter Mitchell Bardsley — Orange

Austin Jon Burdick — Buckland

Nathaniel James Crocker — Bernardston

Cal Joseph Daignault — Greenfield

Spencer Daniel Hunt — Deerfield

Kyle Alan Johnson — Ashfield

Samantha Mae Scopa — Greenfield

James Matthew Sykes — Greenfield

Programming, Web Design

Matthew Paul Baranoski — Montague

Thomas James Burden — Greenfield

Emmett Roberge Friedrichs — Sunderland

Jeremiah James Gibson — Greenfield

Aaron Douglas Haskins — Colrain

Zachary Scott Korpiewski — Whately

Catherine Anne Landers — Montague

Sean Jacob Russell — Northfield

Bradley David Sawyer — Greenfield

Christopher Thomas Smith — Erving

Colton James Tarbox — Wendell

Landscaping, Horticulture

Culleen Denise June Ames — Orange

Meagan Nichole Blais — Halifax, Vt.

Douglas Andrew Coates — Charlemont

Colby Alexander Collins — Northfield

Andrew Joseph LaCoy — Bernardston

Morgan Diane Plante — Orange

Harley Lynn Robinson — Montague

Nicole Charlene Rogalski — Shutesbury

Matthew Ryan Smith — Conway

Emily Elizabeth Sullivan — Colrain

Automotive Collision Repair and Refinishing

Kyle Adam DeAngelis — Leyden

Sebastian William Fisher — Orange

John Alexander Hume — Orange

Samantha Jean Macomber — Orange

Stephanie Marie Macomber — Orange

Alexis Rose Rich — Greenfield

Kane Anthony Rich — Greenfield

Anthony Michael Riel — Orange

Amber Mae Whitmore — Orange

Pre-Employment Program

Samuel Richard Balcanoff — Greenfield

Brandon Johnathan Lyman — Wendell

Brandon Lee Skiffington — Orange

Dylan Francis Wood — Leverett

Welding, Fabrication

Kate Elizabeth Burnett — Erving

John Lawrence Crowley III — Bernardston

Michael Paul Grover — Erving

Patrick Charles Lashway — Northfield

Walter Timothy Piela — Deerfield

Business Technology

Tyler Jon Clapp — Orange

Cameron Alexander Dubrule — Buckland

Gretchen May Emerson — Greenfield

Anthony Steven Ludwig — Orange

Makayla Elise Smith — Greenfield

Jennifer Renee Yeglinski — Greenfield

Automotive Technology

Nathan Scott Breen — Erving

Samuel Keith Carpenter — Whatley

James Douglas Holloway — Northfield

Cody Michael Johnson — Leyden

Clay Dalton Kelley — Buckland

Dominic Craig McLellan — Montague

Joel Stanley Monahan — Whately

Dean Patrick Whitney — Orange

Jared Matthew Wiggin — Northfield

Health Technology

Kaitlin Rose Churchill — Charlemont

Ivy Britt Cross — Montague

Ciara Rose Desrosier — Montague

Sienna Sophia Diemand — Wendell

Megan Elizabeth Duga — New Salem

Kamryn Justice Frost — Orange

Victoria Cheryl Trombley — Conway

Teagan Ashley Valeski — Buckland

Mallory Ann Willis — Charlemont

National Honor Society

Fallyn Elizabeth Adams, Megan Nichole Blais, Kaitlin Rose Churchill, Emmett Roberge Friedrichs, Anthony Steven Ludwig, Lindsey Marie Mailloux, Timothy William Momaney, Teagan Ashley Valeski, Gabriel David Vorce.

Dual Enrollment

Jonathan Hunter Boston, Jeremy John Durant, Hailey Rita Lowell.