Who is on our currency and why?

Published: 8/3/2022 10:38:23 PM

One dollar bill — George Washington (1732-1799).  He was commander of the Colonial Army in the Revolutionary War with England to gain our independence (1775-1783).  Washington was our first President of the United States of America (1789-1797).

Two dollar bill — Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826).  He was the third president (1801-1809).  He purchased the Louisiana Territory from France and sent Lewis and Clark to explore this land to the Pacific Ocean (1802-1804).

Five dollar bill — Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865) sixteenth president ran the U.S. Civil War (1861-1865).  He freed the slaves.

Ten Dollar bill — Alexander Hamilton (1755-1804) Secretary of the U.S. Treasury for President Washington.  He started the banking system.

Twenty Dollar bill — Andrew Jackson (1767-1831) seventh president (1829-1837). He fought the financial banks to decrease their influence.

Fifty Dollar bill — Ulysses Grant (1822-1885) eighteenth president (1869-1877).  Union general, he helped end the U.S. Civil War.  He promoted the railroad.

One Hundred Dollar bill — Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790) Statesman, printer, scientist, ambassador to England, and then France.  He helped with the U.S. Constitution and Declaration of Independence.  Invented bifocal eye glasses and studied electricity.

Lew La Chance



Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Greenfield Recorder, keeping Franklin County informed since 1792.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261


Copyright © 2021 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy