Palmer-Fortune to join Whately Selectboard

  • Joyce Palmer-Fortune

Recorder Staff
Published: 6/13/2017 11:37:11 PM

WHATELY — Joyce Palmer-Fortune beat Justin Davis 164 to 127 for a seat on the Whately Selectboard.

This will be the second time Selectwoman-elect Palmer-Fortune, an electrical engineer and Smith College educator, serves on the board. She previously held a seat from 2009 to 2015.

Following Selectman Paul Newlin’s resignation announcement earlier this year, there was a contested race to fill his seat on the Selectboard. In campaigning, Palmer-Fortune highlighted her previous efforts as selectwoman to bring green solar energy into town.

Elections were held Tuesday from 10 a.m. till 7 p.m. in the Sandy Lane town office building. Results were posted before 10 p.m.

In uncontested races, Robert F. Smith, Sheila Powers and Kenneth Moulton were voted in as Library Trustees, and Richard Smith was re-elected as the town’s moderator. Maureen Nichols secured an open chair on the School Committee; Melanie Chorak as Assessor; Georgeann Dufault was re-elected as Water Commissioner; and Barbara Banik was voted onto the Board of Health.

In a few other races contested by write-in candidates, Adelia Bardwell was elected Elector Under Oliver Smith Will, and write-in Elizabeth Conlisk defeated five other write-in candidates with 33 votes for a position as Cemetery Commissioner.


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Greenfield Recorder, keeping Franklin County informed since 1792.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261
Fax: (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2021 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy