Please support the Greenfield Recorder's COVID-19 coverage

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought the local economy — and many of the advertisers who support our work — to a near standstill. During this unprecedented challenge, we continue to make our coronavirus coverage free to everyone at because we feel our most critical mission is to deliver vital information to our communities. If you believe local news is essential, especially during this crisis, please donate.

Thank you for your support of the Recorder.

Michael Moses, Publisher

UMass notebook: Junior forward John Leonard not among Hobey Baker finalists


  • John Leonard, left, of UMass, moves the puck against Ryan Mahshie, of RPI, Oct. 11 at the Mullins Center. STAFF FILE PHOTO/JERREY ROBERTS

Staff Writer
Published: 4/2/2020 5:30:51 PM
Modified: 4/2/2020 5:30:41 PM

UMass will not be bringing home the Hobey Baker Award for a second consecutive season.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee announced its three finalists for the nation’s top hockey award on Thursday.

Jordan Kawaguchi, a junior forward from North Dakota, Scott Perunovich, a junior defenseman from Minnesota Duluth, and Jeremy Swayman, a junior goaltender from Maine, will vie for the honor on April 10.

UMass junior forward John Leonard was among the top 10 final candidates. Defenseman Cale Makar took home the award last season, becoming the first Minuteman to win the player of the year honor.

The last school to win back-to-back Hobey Bakers was Maine in 1992 and 1993.

Kawaguchi had 15 goals and 30 assists in 33 games.

Perunovich finished with six goals and 34 assists in 34 games.

Swayman finished 18-11-5 with a save percentage of .939 and a goals against average of 2.07.

Leonard, who agreed to join the San Jose Shakes on Tuesday, led the nation with 27 goals in a season that was cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic. He paced the Minutemen with 37 points. He had 10 assists and was +17 in 33 games with five power-play goals.

The three finalists was selected by a 30-member selection committee and an additional round of online voting by fans. Kawaguchi received 26.6 percent of the fans vote, followed by Cornell’s Morgan Barron (22.6), Leonard (18.1), Perunovich (12.8) and Swayman (4.7).

LAX HONORS — UMass women’s lacrosse junior Caitlyn Petro was named a second-team All-American by Inside Lacrosse.

Petro led the nation in draw controls per game with 11.2 wins per game, while her 56 draws in just five games played ranked in a tie for seventh in the NCAA.

The Manchester, New Hampshire, native recorded double-digit draws on three occasions this season, including a career-high 17 in a victory on the road at Connecticut on March 7.

UMass men’s lacrosse senior midfielder Jeff Trainor was named third-team All-American by Inside Lacrosse.

Trainor posted 20 points on 14 goals and six assists. He added 12 groundballs and six caused turnovers. The Billerica native recorded multiple points in five of seven outings.

HOOP COMMIT — Mark Gasperini will bring some size to the UMass men’s basketball frontcourt next season.

The 6-foot-10, 245-pound senior from American announced on Twitter Wednesday that he will join the Minutemen as a graduate transfer. He has one year of eligibility remaining. He missed his sophomore year with an injury.

Gasperini started all 30 games for the Eagles this past season. He averaged 8.9 points and 5.1 rebounds. He is a career 49.3 percent shooter.

Born in Moscow, Gasperini played at Brimmer and May School in Boston. He played AAU for Vin Pastore’s Mass Rivals. Former UMass big man and Springfield native Chris Baldwin was his AAU teammate.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261
Fax: (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2019 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy