Greenfield city council elects new president, VP for 2018

  • The Greenfield Town Hall Recorder File Photo/Paul Franz

Recorder Staff
Tuesday, January 02, 2018

GREENFIELD — Seven new and reelected city councilors were sworn into office Tuesday, and the legislative body rang in the New Year by electing a new president, vice president and treasurer for 2018.

At-Large Councilor Karen “Rudy” Renaud was unanimously elected council president; At-Large Councilor Penny Ricketts was elected vice president, beating Precinct 9 Councilor Daniel Leonovich by two votes; and Precinct 4 Councilor Wanda Muzyka-Pyfrom was elected treasurer by a unanimous vote during Tuesday’s annual organizational meeting.

“I’m pleased and honored to be nominated and to inevitably be your president,” Renaud said before the vote. “I thank you, all of you.”

Newly elected councilors include Timothy Dolan in Precinct 5, Sheila Gilmour in Precinct 6, Otis Wheeler in Precinct 7 and Douglas Mayo in Precinct 8.

Former Precinct 8 Councilor Ashli Stempel was sworn into an at-large seat, Daniel Leonovich was reelected in Precinct 9 and Ricketts was reelected to her at-large seat.

Renaud said council subcommittee assignments will likely be sent out this weekend.