12 area teams learn WMass hoop seeds

  • Brad Hastings, center, and his Pioneer teammates were seeded fourth in the Western Mass. Division III Tournament. Recorder file photo/Matt Burkhartt

Monday, February 29, 2016


Recorder Staff

A dozen areas teams will begin their quest for sectional titles in four divisions beginning Monday and Tuesday in the Western Massachusetts Basketball Tournament.

The seeds were unveiled by Western Mass. Tournament Director Lou Conte during the annual seed meeting Saturday afternoon at the Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield.

Four schools qualified for the boys’ Division III field — Pioneer Valley Regional School (16-4) was seeded fourth, Mohawk Trail Regional High School (14-6) is eighth, Mahar Regional School (11-9) got the ninth seed and Frontier Regional School (10-10) wound up 11th in the 12-team field.

Franklin County Technical School (16-4) was seeded fifth and Turners Falls — despite its 8-12 record — earned the seventh seed (8-12) in the boys’ Division IV field, which also had 12 teams.

Greenfield High School (19-1) was the highest seed of the three area teams in the girls’ Division III field, as it garnered the fifth seed. Athol High School (12-8) was seeded eighth and Mahar Regional School (11-9) was the 11th and final seed.

Three teams will complete in the girls’ Division IV tourney — Turners Falls (10-10) is the eighth seed, Pioneer (9-11) enters as the ninth seed and Franklin Tech (12-8) was placed 11th.

Below is a list of the games — and potential games — involving local teams this week. All first-round and quarterfinal games are scheduled to tip off at 7 p.m. unless the schools agree to move the start time:

First Round

Girls (Monday)

Mount Greylock at Athol

Mahar at Wahconah

Pioneer at Turners Falls

FC Tech at Lee

Boys (Tuesday)

Mahar at Mohawk

Frontier at Mount Greylock

Westfield Tech at FC Tech

PV Christian at Turners Falls


Girls (Thursday)

Greylock-Athol winner at South Hadley

Mahar-Wahconah winner at Hampshire

Pioneer-Turners winner at Ware

FC Tech-Lee winner at Monson

Boys (Friday)

Hampshire-Hoosac winner at Pioneer

Mahar-Mohawk winner at Sabis

Frontier-Mount Greylock winner at Palmer

Westfield Tech-FC Tech winner at Lenox

PV Christian-Turners winner at Granby