Selectman Sokol re-elected in Rowe

Recorder Staff
Published: 5/20/2018 7:36:24 PM

ROWE — Saturday’s annual town election brought out 101 voters who not only re-elected incumbents, but a plethora of write-in candidates for open town seats without official candidates.

According to Town Clerk Kathy Sprague, the voter turnout represented about 37 percent of the 276 registered voters. Some of the unfilled positions on the ballot, in this town of 400 people, garnered up to 10 write-ins.

All the candidates on the ballot were unopposed and were elected. Re-elected to three-year terms were Selectman Chuck Sokol and Assessor Ellen Miller. Susan Williams is now a Park Commissioner for three years, Jay Williams is a Cemetery Commissioner for three years.

With 71 votes, Matt Cowningshield won a three-year School Committee seat.

Here are the write-ins that gathered the most votes for the unfilled town offices. It is not yet known if they will accept the positions.

Top write-ins for two empty three-year seats on the Finance Committee were: Christopher Hyytinen, Laurie Pike and Marilyn Wilson, but it was unknown at press time which two will accept the seats.

Daniel Burke won the write-in vote for a five-year Planning Board seat with 15 votes. David Cousineau garnered the most write-in votes (15) for a three-year Board of Health term. Cathy Snyder got 32 votes for an open Library Trustee seat, for three-years.

Ballot questions

Ballot question 1, to change the tax collector’s position from an elected position to an appointed one, was approved 60-38. The second ballot question, to have the Selectboard serve as the town’s broadband MLP (Municipal Light Plant board) was approved 79 to 17.


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Greenfield Recorder, keeping Franklin County informed since 1792.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261


Copyright © 2021 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy