Rowe election features town clerk contest


Staff Writer

Published: 05-11-2023 2:50 PM

ROWE — With Paul McLatchy III leaving his position this term, town clerk is the only contested race on the ballot in their year’s election.

The election will be held Saturday, May 13, at Rowe Elementary School. Polls will be open from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Margaret “Meg” Pallotta and Kevin Balawick have both submitted papers to run as candidates to fill the vacant town clerk position.

Pallotta said she worked as an assistant town clerk in Hanover for five years, and spent 13 years working for the town in other positions.

“I have the knowledge and experience,” she said. She indicated that she will not need to go through any training to take on the position.

Attempts to reach Balawick were unsuccessful by press time on Thursday.

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Starbucks plans Mohawk Trail shop in Greenfield, Friendly’s to close
Former Greenfield police chief warned of legal action over raise
Connectivity woes bedevil The Weldon in Greenfield
My Turn: Biden’s record and accomplishments are extremely positive
My Turn: A terrible report card for Greenfield High School
Greenfield Police Logs: Feb. 13 to Feb. 22

Uncontested positions on the ballot are as follows:

■Assessor, three-year term — Frederick Williams, incumbent.

■Board of Health, three-year term — Daniel Poplawski, incumbent.

■Board of Health, two-year term — Kathleen Atwood.

■Selectboard, three-year term — Joanne Semanie, incumbent.

■Cemetery Commission, three-year term — Joanne Semanie, incumbent.

■Constable, three-year term — Henry Dandeneau, incumbent.

■Finance Committee, three-year term — Loretta Dionne, incumbent.

■Finance Committee, three-year term — Daniel Pallotta, incumbent.

■Finance Committee, one-year term — Marilyn Wilson.

■Library trustee, three-year term — Rebecca Bradley, incumbent.

■Library trustee, two-year term — Lauren Werner.

■Library trustee, three-year term — Laurie Pike, incumbent.

■Park Commission, two-year term — Walter Quist, incumbent.

■Planning Board, five-year term — no candidates.

■Planning Board, three-year term — no candidates.

■School Committee, three-year term — Susan Zavotka, incumbent.

Reach Bella Levavi at 413-930-4579 or