Meisner wins seat on Northfield board

Recorder Staff
Published: 5/8/2018 11:44:12 PM

image1-(1)_16756591-(1).jpgNORTHFIELD — In a landslide election of 542 to 165, Northfield voters chose Alex Meisner as the newest member of the Selectboard. Meisner will be taking the seat previously occupied by Jack Spanbauer to join Tracy Rogers and Julia Blythe on the Selectboard.

Seven-hundred twelve ballots were cast, 31.4 percent of the 2265 eligible voters in Northfield, said Town Clerk Dan Campbell. He added that this relatively high turnout included 21 write-in ballots.

Meisner, who has lived in Northfield for six years, campaigned on his goals to attract a younger population to Northfield, and his willingness to hear residents’ concerns and bring change to Northfield.

“The overwhelming vote justifies a need for Northfield to start making a change,” Meisner said Tuesday night. “Two clear alternatives were presented today, and the people chose what is considered a new direction for Northfield.”

Meisner’s only opponent in the race was Robert Leighton, who campaigned on his 31 years of service in the Northfield Police Department. Leighton was promoted to his current position of chief of police in 2013. Leighton’s candidacy drew scrutiny among some residents over the potential for a conflict of interest.

Leighton was unavailable for comment after the election.

Other election results

All other positions on the ballot were uncontested.

Board of Assessors, three years: Bethany Walker

Board of Health, three years: David Balk, Robert MacEwan

Board of Library Trustees, three years: Nolan Briggs Kitfield, Paulina Borrego

Planning Board, five years: Homer Stavely

Planning Board, four years: Margaret Ann Riordan

Planning Board, two years: Stephen Seredynski

Recreation Commission, three years: Beth Welcome (Welcome was a write-in candidate, so she must choose to accept the position.)

Board of Trustees of Veterans Memorials, three years: Robert Hall

Sewer Commissioner, three years: Alexander Meisner

Town Clerk, three years: Daniel Campbell

Moderator, three years: Nathan Winfield L’Etoile

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261
Fax: (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2020 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy