Greenfield Winter Carnival’s 2023 contest winners

Staff Report

Published: 02-06-2023 2:58 PM

The following is the list of event winners from the 101st annual Winter Carnival, held Friday through Sunday.

Parade of Lights

Best and Brightest: Tanner Ames Electrical.

Artistic Illumination: Gilmore & Farrell Insurance.

City Council Award: Department of Public Works Truck No. 35.

Ice Sculpture Contest

First Place: Murray Long (sponsored by Green Fields Market).

Second Place: Mark Bosworth (sponsored by Plum).

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

My Turn: Biden’s record and accomplishments are extremely positive
MIAA Div. 5 boys basketball: Brayden Thayer joins the 1,000 point club in Pioneer’s 65-37 Round of 32 win over Fenway (PHOTOS)
Area sugarhouses start tapping season early after warm winter days
MIAA Div. 5 boys basketball: Dominant all-around performance sends Mahar past Smith Academy, 60-15
State Tournament Roundup: Franklin Tech girls basketball cruises past PV Christian
Psalm 23: The message of the shepherd

Third Place: Michael Legassey (sponsored by Gagne Wealth Management).

Snow Sculpture Contest

First Place: The Toasters.

Jigsaw Puzzle Contest

“Turn Off Your Porch Lights, Turn On Your Hearts for Pollinators” — Time of 53 minutes and 12 seconds.

K-9 Keg Pull

Top Dog: Callie.


First Place: Callie, 4.55 seconds.

Second Place: Yoshi, 6.06 seconds.

Third Place: Shadow, 6.33 seconds.

Half Keg

First Place: Bentley, 4.68 seconds.

Second Place: Gypsy, 5.89 seconds.

Third Place: Bindi, 6.07 seconds.

Full Keg

First Place: StellaLuna, 4.95 seconds.

Second Place: Thor, 7.09 seconds.

Third Place: Windy, 7.6 seconds.

Best Dressed: Zeus.

Best Dressed Runner-up: Rodger.

Pawsome Job: Ariel, 33.98 seconds.

It Was Ruff, But We Tried: Rosie, 44.14 seconds.

Cardboard Sled Contest

Youth — Under 16 (single riders)

Fastest (Tie): Ryleigh Goodwin.

Fastest (Tie): Noah Wemhoener.

Most Creative: Morgan Wyngowski.

Zaniest: Cody Hyer.

Group — two or more of all ages

Fastest: Jillian and Tyler DeBlase.

Most Creative (Tie): Owen Conley, Jaydon Grazick and Lilly Allis.

Most Creative (Tie): Taimoor and Aziz Dahlstrom-Hakki.

Zaniest: Tenny Childs and Graham Howell.


People’s Choice: Quill Bullock.

Paper Snowflake Contest

Under 5: Emily Cuff.

Ages 5 to 6: Charles Schwerin.

Ages 5 to 6: Barrett Desroches.

Ages 7 to 9: Fiona.

Ages 10 to 12: Phineas Brown.

Ages 10 to 12: Aurora Reynolds.

Vintage Snowmobile Show

First Place: Karl Erickson.

Second Place: Nick Ruddy.

Third Place: Harper Stafford.

Cribbage Tournament

Winner: Walter James.

Runner-up: Betsy Carpenter.

Chili Cook-Off

Best Chili Around: Yoshi Monseratte.

Cookie Bake-Off

Most Original: Danielle VerPlanck.

Best Decorated: Caitlin von Schmidt.

Best Overall: Francesca Passiglia.