Following election, Northfield Selectboard expands; highway superintendent returns as sewer commissioner





Staff Writer
Published: 5/5/2021 4:35:27 PM

NORTHFIELD — The annual town election on Tuesday saw Highway Superintendent Thomas Walker elected to the Board of Sewer Commissioners in the only contested race, and officially elected three Selectboard members, thus expanding the board to have five members total.

According to Town Clerk Dan Campbell, who was re-elected with 218 votes and no opposition, the election saw 238 ballots cast by the time polls closed at 8 p.m.

Walker won the three-year Board of Sewer Commissioners seat with 144 votes compared to Bernard “Bernie” Boudreau’s 79 votes. Walker previously served on the board for 12 years before he did not seek re-election in 2018. He could not be reached for comment by press time on Wednesday.

“I’m disappointed, but I’ll certainly work with Mr. Walker if he needs anything — we’re all a team here,” Boudreau said of the election results. “I’m glad it was someone who is qualified who was running. He’s done this before.”

While he did not win this race, Boudreau also ran unopposed for, and was elected to, a three-year term on the Selectboard. After town voters approved increasing the Selectboard from three to five members last year, Boudreau is one of three candidates who ran unopposed for three different seats.

“I would like to thank everybody that supported all the candidates. Whether they voted for me or not, it’s important that people got out to vote,” Boudreau said. “I want people to be able to approach me and talk to me. I want them to know I’m going to address their concerns. I’m looking forward to getting involved and representing the town of Northfield. … I’m excited to get to work.”

Boudreau said he was sworn in by Campbell on Wednesday morning, and the new Selectboard is scheduled to hold a joint meeting today with the Board of Health. The Selectboard members will appoint a new chair and then discuss with the Board of Health the possibility of opting out of a state-run mosquito control plan.

Incumbent candidate and current Selectboard Chair Alexander Meisner was also re-elected to his second term on the Selectboard.

“Northfielders said I was worthy of another term, and I want to continue to keep providing a fresh perspective and avoid conflicts of interest,” Meisner said. “The board is fresher than ever with a majority made up of residents that haven’t been here for our entire lives.”

He said he is looking forward to working with the new members, noting they bring with them “business experience” and an interest in “collaborative efforts with other town departments and committees.”

Joining Boudreau as a new Selectboard member is Mary Bowen, who secured a two-year term. Bowen is co-owner of the Northfield Creamie, and was recently appointed to the Campus Center Community Collaborative Committee. She could not be reached for comment Wednesday.

Positions for the Board of Trustees of Veterans Memorials, a four-year term on the Planning Board and a three-year term on the Recreation Commission were filled through write-in votes and will need to formally accept the position with Campbell. Results of these and other positions that were uncontested are as follows:

■Board of Assessors, three-year term: Bethany Walker (212 votes)

■Board of Health, two seats with three-year terms: David Balk (195 votes) and Karen Boudreau (165 votes)

■Board of Library Trustees, two seats with three-year terms: Nolan Briggs Kitfield (205 votes) and Gretchen Licata (185 votes)

■Recreation Commission, two-year term: Robert Emberley (194 votes)

■Recreation Commission, three-year term: Ed Bassett won with two write-in votes over one write-in vote for Mary Bowen

■Planning Board, five-year term: Tammy Pelletier (187 votes).

■Planning Board, four-year term: Joseph Graveline won with 53 write-in votes over Alexander Strysky’s 45 write-in votes

■Board of Trustees of Veterans Memorials, veteran three-year term: Dan Ryan won with two write-in ballots over five other candidates (Elizabeth Johnson, Ed Doolittle, Robert Henry, Phil Watson and Joseph Stacy) who each had a single write-in vote in their favor

■Board of Trustees of Veterans Memorials, non-veteran three-year term: Phil Watson won with three write-in votes over Daryl Cornwell with one write-in vote

■Town clerk, three-year term: Dan Campbell (218 votes)

■Moderator, three-year term: Nathan L’Etoile (196 votes)

Zack DeLuca can be reached at or 413-930-4579.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261
Fax: (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2020 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy