No races, 2 write-in candidates in Erving election

Staff writer
Published: 5/8/2019 5:58:47 PM

ERVING — There are two seats with write-in candidates that would otherwise have left the positions vacant following the annual town election on Monday.

Thirty-two voters turned out on Monday, which the Town Clerk Richard Newton said was a low turnout. 

“There is usually more voters if there is at least one contested race, and there wasn’t one this year,” said Newton.

Scott Bastarache was the write-in for an Erving School Committee seat with a two-year term. He hasn’t announced if he’s accepted the position yet.

Jillian Betters is the write-in for a seat on the Recreation Commission with a three-year term. She currently holds the position and did not accept nomination prior to the Wednesday, March 13 deadline. Newton said he hasn’t heard back from Betters yet either.

While there is no official deadline, but Newton said he would know if the two candidates whether the two have accepted their candidacy by end of the week.

The annual election was otherwise uncontested.

Scott Bastarache, of 14 Pratt St., won reelection for a three-year Selectboard seat. He currently is the chairman of the Selectboard.

Jennifer Eichorn, of 21 Ridge Road, won reelection for a three-year the Erving School Committee.

Michael Gordon, of 21 River Road, won reelection for a one-year term as tree warden.

Mark Burnett, of 25 Swamp Road, won reelection for a three year Board of Assessors seat.

Vying for two seats, Richard Newton, of 9 Lester St., won for reelection for a two-year term as the town clerk as well as a three-year term as Constable.

Michele Turner, of 22 Sawin Lane, was reelected for a three-year term as the tax collector.

The winners of the two seats on the planning board were Jacquelyn Boyden, of 151 Northfield Road, and Michael Shaffer, of 81 Old State Road. The terms are for three years. 

There is also a vacancy for an alternate member on the Planning Board as well.

Jeffrey Rollins, of 223 North St., won reelection for a three-year term on the Recreation Commission.

Leo Parent, of 75 State Road, won reelection as a member of the Board of Health. The term is for three years.

Peter Roy-Clark, of 3 Grant Way, won reelection as Library Trustee. The position has a three-year term.

Richard Peabody, of 79 Old State Road, won for the one-year term as town moderator.

Reach Melina Bourdeau at or 413-772-0261 ext. 263. 

Please support the Greenfield Recorder's COVID-19 coverage

Thank you for your support of the Recorder.


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Greenfield Recorder, keeping Franklin County informed since 1792.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261
Fax: (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2019 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy