Eight incumbents retain seats in Monroe

Staff Report
Published: 5/3/2022 4:05:57 PM
Modified: 5/3/2022 4:04:25 PM

MONROE — Eight incumbents retained their seats during Monday’s town election, and a write-in candidate will fill a one-year term on the Finance Committee.

According to Town Clerk Marcella Stafford Gore, 17 ballots were cast. With 80 registered voters in town, the voter turnout was 21.25%.

Carla Davis, who sought re-election to the Selectboard/Board of Health/Planning Board for another three-year term, received 15 votes in the only contested race on the ballot. Challenger Bayard Austin did not receive any votes.

The tree warden position, with a one-year term, did not have any candidate on the ballot. Four write-in candidates each received one vote, resulting in a failure to elect, according to Stafford Gore.

Regarding the one-year term on the Finance Committee, for which there were no candidates on the ballot, Richard Olney-Jones received four write-in votes and Kim Oakes received two write-in votes. Stafford Gore said Olney-Jones has accepted the position.

The results of the remaining uncontested races are as follows:

■School Committee, three-year term — incumbent Carla Davis, 14 votes.

■Finance Committee, three-year term — incumbent Norman Goodermote, 16 votes.

■Library trustee, three-year term — incumbent Thelma Gomez, 16 votes.

■Constable, three-year term — incumbent Robin Hart, 15 votes.

■Moderator, one-year term — incumbent Norman Goodermote, 16 votes.

■Town clerk, one-year term — incumbent Marcella Stafford Gore, 14 votes.

■Auditor, one-year term — incumbent Carla Davis, 15 votes.


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Greenfield Recorder, keeping Franklin County informed since 1792.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261


Copyright © 2021 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy