Candidates named for Bernardston town election

Sunday, March 11, 2018

BERNARDSTON — The slate of candidates for the upcoming annual election was recently decided at the annual non-partisan town caucus. Thirty-three of the town’s 1,575 registered voters were in attendance at Town Hall.

As it now stands, there is only one contested seat — that for a three-year term for assessor. The race pits incumbent assessor William J. Young against Ghislaine P. Burgess.

The other candidates are as follows:

For constable (three-year term) — incumbent Peter A. Shedd.

Four Cushman Library trustees — Cathryn Thomas, incumbent; Robert Keir, incumbent; Susan Beth Tormanen and Karen Beth Fitzpatrick. Each term is for three years.

Four Powers Institute trustee positions — Janice F. Deane, incumbent; Kenneth Bordewieck, incumbent; William H. Shores, incumbent; and Louella B. Atherton, incumbent. They are all three-year seats.

Two members of the Recreation Commission for terms of three years each — Eric Glazier, an incumbent, pending acceptance of the nomination. For the second position, there was no nomination.

One Selectboard seat of three years — Stanley Garland, who is an incumbent.

One three-year seat on the Board of Health did not garner any nominations.

The annual election is slated for Monday, May 7.