Gillian Budine wins two-year Selectboard seat in Wendell


Staff Writer
Published: 6/2/2020 1:13:35 PM

WENDELL — Gillian Budine is the new Selectboard member in town, besting Nancy Riebschlaeger 234 to 88 in Monday’s election.

The race for the two-year seat was the only contested one on this year’s ballot. According to Town Clerk Gretchen Smith, 327 of the town’s 704 registered voters showed up to the polls — a 46.4 percent turnout. Voting took place at the Wendell Town Office building.

Budine said she found out about her win through an email from Smith at 8:20 a.m. on Tuesday.

“I was like, ‘That’s great. Time to get to work,’” she said. “I feel thankful. And I had a lot of support.”

Budine added it’s a great feeling “being able to be representing a lot of people in town.”

The 51-year-old works for Erving School Union 28 as the coordinator of the Community Network for Children program, which provides support and family programs for residents of Erving, Leverett, New Salem, Wendell and Shutesbury.

Townspeople also voted 211 to 70 to give their blessing to a Proposition 2½ exclusion for the purchase of a backhoe for the Highway Department.

The results of the election’s uncontested races are as follows: Daniel Keller, Selectboard, three-year seat; Chris Prunier Wings, Board of Assessors, three-year seat; Gretchen Smith, town clerk, three-year term; Penny Delorey, tax collector, three-year term; Carolyn Manley, treasurer, three-year term; Judith D. Bailey, Board of Health, three-year seat; Judith N. Putnam, cemetery commissioner, three-year term; Molly F. Doody, Planning Board, five-year term; Christopher Queen (write-in candidate), Planning Board, two-year term; Kathleen Nolan, moderator, one-year term; Johanna Bartlett and Anna Rebecca Wetherby, Wendell School Committee, three-year terms; April C. Thompson, Wendell School Committee, one-year term: April C. Thompson (nominee); Phil Delory, road commissioner, three-year term; Judith Putnam and Sylvia Wetherby, library trustees, three-year terms; Mara Bright, library trustees, one-year term; and Cliff Dornbusch (write-in candidate), tree warden, one-year term.

Reach Domenic Poli at: or 413-772-0261, ext. 262.


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Greenfield Recorder, keeping Franklin County informed since 1792.

Greenfield Recorder

14 Hope Street
Greenfield, MA 01302-1367
Phone: (413) 772-0261
Fax: (413) 772-2906


Copyright © 2020 by Newspapers of Massachusetts, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy