P/sunny
39°
P/sunny
Hi 57° | Lo 42°

Neighbors: Memories of high school band days linger

Hello
neighbor.

I did an interview with the band director at Pioneer Valley Regional School and some of his students on Monday morning and it brought back a lot of good memories.

The school’s marching band has been invited to perform during halftime at a Celtics game in Boston this season and its members couldn’t be more excited. (See the next item for more information.)

As most of you know, I graduated from Turners Falls High School in 1976. What you might not know is that I was a member of its concert, marching and jazz bands and was drum major my senior year. I played the tenor saxophone.

I didn’t join the high school band until my sophomore year. I hadn’t really thought about it until then and don’t remember why I decided to take private lessons the summer between freshman and sophomore years, but it ended up being one of the smartest and best things I had ever done to that point.

Being in band was like having a second family. To many we were known as “band geeks,” but to each other we were close friends who developed tight bonds.

Like sports and other high school activities, being in band gave direction and purpose to teens who were trying to figure out where they fit.

As a member of the bands, I got to do some traveling, compete and perform with the All Western Massachusetts District Band.

I will never forget that time or the people who became part of my life for at least those three years — some of us lost track of each other or only see each other on rare occasions. We shared something that no one and no amount of time will ever change.

I’m sure I’ll try to give grandson Justin a little nudge when the time is right — he seems to really love music, so maybe I won’t have to nudge too hard — and when Owen and Travis are old enough, I’ll introduce them to the universal language of music as well.