Hi 24° | Lo 6°

Frontier roars back to beat Senators

Frontier Regional School rallied from an 18-point deficit with seven events remaining to beat Mahar Regional School,76-69, in an Intercounty League boys’ track and field meet on Monday in South Deerfield.

“This was a big win for us,” said Red Hawks head coach Walt Flynn. “We’re so darn young and we’re still figuring out how to win. ... Just getting to believe in themselves can be a challenge.

“Against Mahar you have to bring your A-game,” added Flynn. “We weren’t perfect but I thought the team really took to the next level, so that was fun to see.”

Frontier (3-2 overall, 3-2 FCL) finally grabbed the lead by sweeping the 800 meters, and still led by two before Collin Higgins, Adam Kellogg, Ian Blight and Oliver Fox won the 4x400-meter relay by over four seconds to clinch the victory.

Fox also won the 400 meters in 54.8 seconds, while Blight captured the 800 (2:13.4) and Higgins was tops in the long jump at 18 feet, 6 inches.

Saul Soto earned a blue ribbon in the javelin (131-8), Jamie Blinder cleared 11 feet to win the pole vault, and Justin Blake was victorious in the 400 intermediate hurdles (63.4). Soto, Blinder, Colin Hickey and Chad Parent won the 4x100 relay (48.1).

The Senators’ Zabien Shaw had the best individual performance of the afternoon, capturing wins in the triple jump (37-8.25), mile (4:53.8) and two-mile (10:49.7). Cam Marshall sprinted to wins in the 100 (12.0) and 200 (24.8), Chris Jackson outdistanced the fields in the discus (106-5) and shot put (39-7), Joey Verheyen cleared 6-4 to claim first in the high jump, and Dan Bergman was best in the 110 high hurdles (18.0).

Frontier will compete in the Old Saybrook Invitational Saturday, then host Pioneer Valley Regional School on Monday before heading into the postseason.

Pioneer 92, Athol 50 — Darion Sadri swept his four events to lead Pioneer to a 92-50 victory over Athol High School in IL boys’ track and field competition Monday afternoon in Northfield.

Sadri won the sprinting events on the track with a victory in the 100 in 12.2 seconds and a win in the 200 in 25.1. He also captured the distance jumping events with a distance of 19-4.5 in the long jump and a length of 37-9 in the triple jump.

The Panthers (2-3) also got strong performances from a number of seventh-graders. Seamus Garland won the mile for the Panthers in a time of 5:54, while a foursome of seventh-graders won the 4 x 100 relay for the Panthers. Alex Wahlstrom, Tyler Raymond, Jacob Kelton and Justin Hubbard combined to finish the 4x100 in 62.5 seconds. Hubbard also finished second in the 110 high hurdles.

“We had a lot of kids step up for us today but what really sticks out in my mind is those young kids,” Pioneer coach Jim Bell said.

Greg Betsold won two events for Pioneer with a victory in the discus in a season-best throw of 138-7, and a win in the shot put at 41-5.5. Dan Bordner also won two events for Pioneer, taking the high hurdles in 19.4 seconds and the high jump at 6 feet. Austin Blair won the 400 (63.1), James Wheeler won the 800 (2:31), and Alex Bridges won the 400 hurdles (70.8).

Tom LaRose won the pole vault for the Red Raiders (1-4) in a height of 10-6, and Travis Heath won the javelin at 101-5.

Mohawk 103, Turners 42 — Lucas Purington won three events on Monday afternoon as Mohawk Trail Regional High School clinched at least a share of the IL title with a 103-42 victory over Turners Falls in boys’ track & field action in Buckland.

Purington won the 100 (11.6), the 400 (51.9) and the long jump (20-2.5) for the Warriors, who finish up the regular season on Monday at home against second-place Greenfield High School. Amar Abbatiello captured the 110 high hurdles (17.6) and the pole vault (10-0), and Jeremiah Jones won the discus (103-0) and the 400 intermediate hurdles (63.8).

Tom Damery won the 800 (2:16.1), Eli Shearer won the triple jump (38-3.25), Michael Schuetze won the high jump (5-2), and Leroy Page won the javelin (142-9).

Tyler Peters won two events for Turners Falls with wins in the 200 (24.9) and the shot put (35-2). The Indians also swept the long distance events as Aaron Moore won the mile (4:53.5) and Michael Hartjens won the 2-mile (11:23.4).

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.