Hi 37° | Lo 20°

Warwick election a slim win for Arguimbau

WARWICK — It came down to a difference of three votes, but incumbent Nick Arguimbau retains his seat on the Selectboard by a vote of 75-72 over write-in James Erviti.

In the second race of the election, write-in Rosa Calcari won the town clerk’s post, 87-44 over fellow write-in Nancy Lyman.

A Proposition 2½ debt override to allow borrowing to pay for a school roof replacement project approved at town meeting passed 87-48.

Voter turnout was 29 percent, or 159 voters.

There were no other races Monday.

Helen Whipple returns to a seat on the Board of Health, David Shoemaker returns to the Cemetery Commission, Brian Peters returns to the post of constable, Fredericka Fellows to the library trustees and David Kopester to the Transfer Station Commission, all for three-year posts. Three non-incumbents also secured seats, unchallenged. James McRae joins the Transfer Station Commission for one year, Elaine Reardon joins the library trustees for three years and Ann Kendall was elected assessor for three years.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.