10 local teachers win awards

Ten Franklin County teachers will receive Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching awards on Tuesday to commemorate their impact on children.

The awards, given out annually since 2003, honor 140 teachers from 35 different communities for their commitment to children in their schools. Franklin and Hampshire County recipients, nominated and selected by their own school districts, will receive their honors during an evening ceremony at the Log Cabin in Holyoke.

Four Greenfield teachers will be honored: Alyssa Collins, a special education teacher at Greenfield Middle School; Ariana Lal, an English teacher at the Eighth Grade Academy; Elizabeth Markofski, the department’s elementary school music teacher; and Jacqueline Swist, a kindergarten teacher at Newton School.

Other local recipients include: Paulette Levchuk, an elementary reading teacher at the Conway Grammar School; Phyllis Milardo, a math teacher at Frontier Regional School; Daniel Prasol, a biology teacher at Franklin County Technical School; Jennifer Rich, a sixth-grade teacher at Butterfield School; and Pamela and Pennie Smith, both English teachers at Ralph C. Mahar Regional School.

The teachers receive cash awards of $500, scholarships to take local courses and a three-month membership to a local YMCA, according to the website of the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation, which organizes the award process.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.