Clouds and sun
Clouds and sun
Hi 24° | Lo 7°

Mohawk shines at Springfield ‘Congress’

BUCKLAND — Mohawk Trail Regional High School student teams were among the top performers at the 74th annual Model Congress, held at American International College in Springfield earlier this month. Mohawk sent two four-student delegations and four observers to the Model Congress, where they competed against 14 teams from New England and New York.

Mohawk junior Matt Walsh took third place in the “Outstanding Delegate” category, earning a scholarship to the college for his debating skills and knowledge of parliamentary procedure. Walsh’s delegation, which included Amanda Taylor, Jenna Sencabaugh and Allison Lull, also won the “Best Bill” award. This award recognizes the most well-crafted legislation with relevance to current societal issues.

The Model Congress gives high school students the chance to engage in the legislative process firsthand and to stimulate an interest in government. Model Congress participants write, amend, debate and vote on several bills during the two-day competition, many of which closely resemble bills currently before the U.S. Congress.

A bill proposed by Mohawk’s second delegation, which included Robbie Buoniconti, Tess Burdick, Anna Flaxman and Rachel Richardson, was one of only 15 bills passed by this year’s Model Congress.

Mohawk’s Observer team included Laura Purington, Aaron Nelson, Sequoia Le Breux and Marissa Anguilo. Social Studies teachers Charlotte McLaughlin and Ivan Grail are the Mohawk advisers. This is only the second year that Mohawk has participated in Model Congress, according to McLaughlin.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.