Gill-Montague Regional Schools

Snedeker wins Gill selectman vote

Montague, G-M school board elections also held

Gill and Montague elected their town and school district officials Monday, with one contest on the ballots.

Gregory M. Snedeker will be the new addition to the Gill Selectboard, winning the seat 115-79 over Fred O. Chase II. The two competed for the seat left empty by longtime member Ann Banash’s decision not to seek an eighth term.

Snedeker, 47, of 26 Trenholm Way, is a teacher, 22-year Gill resident and onetime member of the Board of Assessors.

In the other question of the evening in Gill, voters approved a Proposition 2½ debt exclusion 92-31. The vote allows the town to borrow $75,234 toward the $158,000 appropriated at the annual town meeting May 5 for Public Safety Complex roof replacement.

The election drew 197 voters, 19 percent of Gill’s voting population.

There were no other races on the ballot. Nonincumbent Gary A. Bourbeau secured a two-year seat on the Cemetery Commission and Megan Bathory-Peeler, also a newcomer, was elected to the library trustees after a prior appointment.

Returned to office without contest, all for three-year terms, were: Raymond E. Purington, Board of Assessors; Veronica A. LaChance, tax collector; Carrie R. Stevens, Cemetery Commission; Fred Chase II, Fred Chase III and Craig D. Gaudry, constables; and Edward W. Galipault Jr., Board of Health.


There were no last-minute surprises in Montague’s election, with no races on the ballot. Selectman Michael Nelson returns unchallenged to a second term, his first full term.

Turnout was 7 percent, with 393 registered voters visiting the polls.

Also elected unchallenged, all for three-year posts unless otherwise noted: Paul J. Emery, Board of Assessors; Michael M. Nelson, Board of Health; Alice J. Armen, Carolyn K. Clark and Steven L. Winters, public library trustees; Dennis L. Grader, Parks and Recreation Commission; Christopher M. Boutwell and Donald H. Girard, Soldiers Memorial trustees, nonveterans; and Stanley F. Zera Jr., Montague Housing Authority, five years.

Sharon Cottrell received 25 write-in votes for a one-year seat as a public library trustee, and Larry Parker had 12 for a veteran’s seat on the Soldiers Memorial trustees, both posts with no candidates on the ballot. Neither position is final unless accepted by the write-ins.

Gill-Montague Regional School Committee

There were no races but one new face in the Gill-Montague Regional School Committee election.

April Reipold of 17 Chestnut St., Montague, joins the Gill-Montague Regional School Committee, with returning members Michael Langknecht of Montague and Sandra Brown of Gill. The three ran uncontested, with Reipold filling the vacancy left by Shelly Clark’s decision not to run for re-election.

Results are not official until certified by the school district.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.