Bembury wins Erving selectmen’s seat

ERVING — Bill Bembury beat William Pease Monday for a seat on the Board of Selectmen, 161 to 59.

Bembury, 66, of 8 Church St., is a former selectman, a onetime part-time Erving police officer and an Erving resident for more than 30 years.

Pease, 48, of 12 North St., is a resident of more than 15 years and a former member of the Erving Fire Department, among those to resign following the ouster of former fire chief Almon “Bud” Meattey last year.

Both candidates were motivated by the controversial fire department shake-up and both made campaign priorities of shoring up the department and dealing with the former Usher paper mill property.

Son Hui May of 16 Mountain Road was the other major winner, securing seats on the school committee and two seats on the Planning Board. She was one of two top write-ins for two open school committee seats. She received six votes. Eric Semb took the other seat with four votes. May was also elected to a three-year term on the Planning Board, along with William J. Morris Jr. of 31 Ridge Road. Morris received 140 votes. May received 101 votes. The third candidate vying for the two seats was Tim F. Cronin of 4 Central St. May also was selected for a one-year vacancy on the Planning Board, receiving 12 write-in votes to Cronin’s nine write-ins. May will have to choose whether she wants to serve the three-year term or the one-year term.

Incumbent Bruce W. Scott of 6 Flagg Hill Road won the Health Board seat, 148 to 58 over challenger May.

Incumbent Mackensey L. Bailey of 50 Mountain Road won the library trustee position, 119 to 84, over May.

William F. Lemieux of 69 High St. is the new tree warden with 126 to 76 votes over challenger Jeremy D. Klepadlo of 26 Prospect St.

The one-year term on the Recreation Commission ended in a tie between write-in candidates Michelle Turner and May, who each received 4 votes. The position is still unfilled, requiring a simple majority vote.

The following unchallenged incumbents were re-elected, all for three-year terms unless otherwise specified:

∎ Beth A. Palmquist of 84 Old State Road, assessor.

∎ Margaret A. Sullivan of 80 Old State Road, treasurer.

∎ Richard K. Peabody of 79 Old State Road, moderator, one year.

∎ Arthur A. Kaczenski of 93 Northfield Road, constable.

∎ Renee Tela of 25 Swamp Road, Recreation Commission.

∎ Chad D. Gagne of 161 North St., Recreation Commission, two years.

Twenty-one percent of voters turned out or 224 of 1,067 registered voters.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.