Buckland election set for May 5

BUCKLAND — Selectman Robert Dean is not running for a third term, but Planning Board member John “Rob” Riggan is on the ballot for the selectmen’s seat in this spring’s annual election, on May 5.

Riggan, a novelist and former journalist, has lived in town for nine years. Riggan is currently on the Planning Board and on the board of the Shelburne Falls Fire District. He has also served for two years on the town’s Finance Committee and was president of the board of Falls Cable TV.

Glenn Cardinal, chairman of the town’s Internet Access Committee, was recently appointed to fill a vacancy on the Mohawk Trail Regional School District. He has since filed nomination papers to run for a three-year term on that school committee.

The following incumbents are also running for re-election. All are for three-year terms unless otherwise noted: Town Clerk Janice Purington; Assessor Pamela Guyette; Board of Health Terry Estes; Constable Robert Howson; Finance Committee member Benjamin Murray; Moderator Phoebe Walker (one-year term); and Buckland Library Trustee Amy Love.

Besides the election candidates, the ballot includes two debt-exclusion questions asking voters if the town should be allowed to temporarily raise the tax levy beyond the Proposition 2½ levy limit to finance the town’s share of a bond bill to make building improvements at both the Mohawk Trail Regional School and at Buckland Shelburne Elementary School. These articles will also appear on the annual town meeting warrant for May 7. The total capital request for the high school, $542,778, will be shared by Mohawk’s eight member towns. The BSE school repairs, estimated to cost $783,900, would be shared by Buckland and Shelburne.

You can reach Diane Broncaccio at: dbroncaccio@recorder.com or 413-772-0261, ext. 277

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.