Hi 31° | Lo 18°

Gill voters choose school board members

GILL — By narrow margins, Gill voters put their weight behind incumbent Marjorie Levenson and non-incumbent Charles Kelley in the three-way race for two Montague resident seats on the Gill-Montague School Committee.

The school committee results are not final until combined with the votes cast in Montague, which were not available for this story.

Gill and Montague residents vote for one another’s representatives on the nine-member committee, and the Montague race was the only competition at the Gill polls.

Levenson, of 25 Turner St., Lake Pleasant, took 42 votes in Gill. Kelley, of 89 K St., Turners Falls, took 34 votes. Incumbent Joyce Phillips of 18 Vladish Ave., Turners Falls, took 27 votes.

Incumbent Jane Oakes, of 154 French King Highway, ran unopposed for the open Gill representative’s seat on the committee.

Town Clerk Lynda Hodsdon Mayo said 65 residents turned out to vote, not quite 6 percent of the voting population.

Incumbents returning to office, all for three-year terms, are:

■ Randy P. Crochier of 22 Munns Ferry Road, Selectboard and Sewer Commission.

■ Peter W. Conway of 47 Riverview Drive, Board of Assessors.

■ Ann Marie Klein of 129 Center Road, Cemetery Commission.

■ Douglas A. Edson of 364 Main Road, Board of Health.

■ Veronic LaChance of 5B Mountain Road Estates, treasurer.

■ Elisabeth Greenough of 360 Main Road, Library Trustees.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.