Winter hours for household hazardous waste drop-off

Regional household hazardous waste dropoff sites wil be starting their winter hours.

Franklin County Solid Waste Management District’s sites are open year-round in Bernardston, Colrain, and Conway.

The Bernardston facility, located at the town transfer station on Nelson Drive (off Merrifield Road), will be starting winter hours on Saturday. The hours for December through April will be from 9 a.m. until 11 a.m., the first Saturday of the month.

The Conway facility, located at the town transfer station on Old Cricket Hill Road, operates 11 a.m. until 2 p.m. the first Saturday of each month, and the Colrain facility, located at the town transfer station on Charlemont Road, is open from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. every Saturday.

The sites provide residents with the opportunity to dispose of the most common hazardous materials, including: motor oil, oil filters, anti-freeze, oil-based paint, fluorescent light bulbs, household batteries, ballasts, thermometers, thermostats and mercury-containing switches. Charges apply for disposal of some items.

Any resident in a town belonging to the Franklin County Solid Waste Management District may use any of these sites. Member towns are: Bernardston, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Conway, Deerfield, Erving, Gill, Hawley, Heath, Leverett, Leyden, Montague, New Salem, Northfield, Orange, Rowe, Shelburne, Sunderland, Warwick, Wendell, and Whately.

For more information on disposal of hazardous materials, recycling, composting or other solid waste issues visit the district’s website at; email; or call 413-772-2438. Hearing impaired individuals can contact the district through the Massachusetts Relay at 711 or for TTY/TDD access dial 1-800-439-2370.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.