Rowe school building board’s first meeting set for Tuesday

ROWE — Selectmen have appointed 11 residents and three school administrators to serve on a School Building Committee, which meets for the first time on Tuesday at 6 p.m. in Town Hall.

The committee is working with an architect to come up with financing, cost estimates and options for building a new Rowe Elementary School.

The decision of whether to replace the old school building, destroyed by lightning-set fire in August, will be up to town meeting voters. The School Committee hopes to make a presentation of options to place before annual town meeting voters in the spring.

School Committee Chairwoman Lisa Miller said that Superintendent Michael Buoniconti, School Business Administrator Joanne Blier and Rowe School Principal Bill Knittle were appointed to the building committee as nonvoting members, since they are not town residents.

The residents serving on the board are: Selectman Paul McLatchy and Rowe School teacher Keri McLatchy, Janet Cowie, Donna Flagg, Angela Foshay, Bill Loomis, Dennis May of the Finance Committee, Bob Silva, Susie Szavotka, and School Committee member Cindy Laffond.

Earlier Tuesday afternoon, the Rowe School Committee will hold two meetings at the Hawlemont Regional School, which has also been home to the Rowe School since the fire.

The earliest meeting, at 3:30 p.m., will be to discuss the school budget for the school year that begins next September.

At 4:15 p.m., the Rowe and Hawlemont school committees will meet to discuss extending Rowe School’s stay for another year within the Hawlemont building, since rebuilding, if approved by town meeting voters, is at least two years away.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.