Health board contest in Ashfield Saturday election

ASHFIELD — Barring write-in campaigns, residents will see just one contest on Saturday’s election ballot — for a three-year seat on the Board of Health.

They will also see a debt-exclusion ballot question that asks if the town should “raise and appropropiate” toward the cost of a new highway grader — exempting it from the Proposition 2½ tax levy limit. If the debt exclusion is approved, town officials would borrow up to $150,000, which would be combined with money transfers to pay $285,000 for a new highway grader.

Voting takes place Saturday, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., while the annual town meeting starts at 10 a.m.

Michelle Lee Carter of Baptist Corner Road and James P. Kerr of South Street were both nominated at town caucus for the three-year term currently held by Joanne Ostrowski, who is not seeking re-election.

Thomas E. Carter, a former selectman who handily won a special election for a vacant selectmen’s seat this spring, is running for a full, three-year term of his own.

David E. Newell, who was business manager for the Mohawk school district in the early 1990s, is running to fill a two-year unexpired term on the Finance Committee. Judith H. Haupt of Watson Spruce Corner Road was nominated for a three-year term as a park commissioner. Helen E. “Poppy” Doyle, who was appointed to fill a vacant School Committee seat, is running for her first three-year term.

The following incumbents are running unopposed for re-election. All are for three-year terms unless otherwise noted:

Moderator (one-year) Stewart “Buz” Eisenberg; Tree Warden (one-year) Thomas G. Poissant; Assessor Sandra E. Lilly; Finance Committee members Edwin A. “Ted” Murray and Janet M. Rogers; Constables John A. LaBelle and Elizabeth G. Lesure; Planning Board member (five-year term) Sarah Holbrook and Library Trustee (five years) Caroline D. Murray.

A three-year position on the Sewer Commission has no candidates on the ballot.


Road grader sought at Ashfield town meeting Saturday

Monday, April 29, 2013

ASHFIELD — On Saturday , annual town meeting voters will decide whether to authorize a $150,000 debt exclusion, so that the town can buy a new highway grader. The annual town meeting begins at 10 a.m. in Town Hall. The annual election also takes place, in downstairs polling booths, beginning at 10 a.m. The Highway Department’s 1985 road grader was … 0

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.