Hi 27° | Lo 17°

Selectboard only race in Northfield

NORTHFIELD — A two-way race for Selectboard has emerged from the annual town caucus.

Dianne Cornwell of 68 Warwick Road and Jed Proujansky of 129 Winchester Road both accepted nominations for a three-year Selectboard seat at Tuesday’s caucus.

Cornwell is a member of the Master Plan Steering Committee, and is the director of the Bernardston Senior Center. She has lived in Northfield for 15 years, and said she’s been involved in the community for the last 25 to 30 years.

She made an unsuccessful bid for Selectboard last year, losing to John “Jack” Spanbauer, who had resigned from the board in 2010 due to family illnesses.

“It’s great that Jack is on the board; he’s done a good job,” she said. Though she wasn’t elected to the board, she’s been a regular at its meetings since the last election.

“I’ve paid attention to the meetings, observed them, and watched how the town’s decisions are made,” said Cornwell. “I know I have the right skill-set to do the job.”

Proujansky has also attended many Selectboard meetings, sometimes as a concerned citizen, others as a representative of the School Committee, a position he’s held for 13 years. In that time, he’s served on subcommittees for contract negotiations and policy formation.

Proujanksy also has experience in management. A former auto mechanic, he is now director of information systems for a health care provider.

He said he’d like to see more residents participate in town government.

“I’d rather lose an election with 1,500 voters than win one with 10,” he told the caucus Tuesday. “The best decisions are made when there are multiple people involved, contributing their ideas.”

Selectboard Chairwoman Kathleen Wright said Tuesday afternoon that she would not seek re-election.

“I’ve served on the board for two terms; I think it’s time for someone else to step up,” she explained.

With two residents throwing their hats in the ring for the position, residents have options for the newest face on the board.

“The good news for voters is that they have two good candidates to choose from,” said Cornwell. “Jed and I both care deeply about Northfield.”

Other positions

Incumbents uncontested for three-year positions are: Robert MacEwen Jr. for Board of Assessors, Flora Sadri and Thomas Walker for Board of Health, Margot Fleck and Deborah Potee for library trustees, Suzanne Handren and Jeremy Underwood for Recreation Commission, Jon Ware and James O’Shea for constable, and Thomas Walker for sewer commission.

James Holloway seeks reelection to a five-year seat on the Planning Board, and Guy Gilbert seeks to fill a two-year vacancy on that board. David Brassor seeks a three-year position as constable, and Fred Fuller was nominated to a three-year position as constable from the Northfield Farms area.

Raymond Zukowski Jr. was nominated as a non-veteran to serve a three-year term on the Board of Veterans’ Memorials, and Charles Handren seeks election to a three-year term on that board reserved for a veteran.

All of Tuesday’s candidates were proposed by the Non Partisan Caucus Committee. No nominations came from the floor.

Those not nominated by the caucus but wishing to run for an office listed above have until 5 p.m. March 19 to return nomination papers to the town clerk.

David Rainville can be reached at:
or 413-772-0261, ext. 279

Northfielders, Please remember to vote. While I'd obviously like you to vote for me, what is most important is community involvement, now and on into the future. Please join us by casting your ballot. Jed Proujansky

Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.