Hi 31° | Lo 18°

South County Notebook

Frontier to consider superintendent applicants today

DEERFIELD — The Frontier Regional and Union 38 school districts will hold a special meeting today to review applicants and select finalists to be the next superintendent.

The search committee will develop interview questions and select a date to interview candidates.

On Feb. 7, the Frontier Regional School Committee and the four Union 38 school committees accepted Superintendent Regina Nash’s retirement notice and set steps for finding a replacement.

The five school committees, representing Conway, Deerfield, Sunderland and Whately, agreed to conduct an internal search within the districts lead by a five-member search committee.

The public meeting will take place at 5 p.m. in the Office of the Superintendent at 219 Christian Lane, Whately.

Conway to select candidates March 4

CONWAY — At this year’s town caucus, townspeople will be asked to nominate town officers to the Board of Selectmen, Planning Board, Board of Health and other town elected positions.

The annual citizens caucus will be held in the Town Hall on March 4 at 8 p.m.

Thirteen town officials are up for re-election.

Selectman Jim Moore’s three year term is up. He confirmed he would seek re-election.

Conway School Committee member Elaine F. Campbell’s term of three years runs out this May along with Frontier Regional School District committee representative Cynthia J. Ouimette’s term.

Other officials up for re-election for three year terms include Town Assessor Natalie H. Whitcomb, Board of Health member Carl W. Nelke, Planning Board member Kathryn M. Eugin-Moore, Town Clerk Virginia A. Knowlton, Tree Warden Collin J. Burt, and Ronald D. Hawkes, James Recore and Brian Blakeslee for constable.

J. Nicholas Filler’s one term of town moderator is up. A second Board of Health position for one year also needs to be filled.

Sunderland caucus on March 4

SUNDERLAND — Townspeople will be asked to nominate 14 town elected officers at the annual caucus on March 4 at 6:30 p.m. at the Sunderland Town Hall.

Up for re-election is Selectman David Pierce, Assessor Jim Kowaleck, Town Clerk Wendy Houle, Town Park Trustee Ken Kushi, Board of Health member Caitlyn Rock, Library Trustees Beth Berry, Lisa Tripp, Eileen Krol, Moderator Bob Duby, Planning Board members Sara Synder and Dan Murphy, Cemetery Trustee Donna McKemme, Sunderland School Committee member Douglas Fulton, Frontier Regional School Committee member Lynn Cook and Lyn Roberts.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.