High turnout for Rowe write-ins

ROWE— There were no contests on the ballot, but plenty of write-in candidates brought out at least 58 percent of the town’s voters to the polls Saturday. Out of 269 total voters in this town of about 400 residents, 157 came out to vote.

Walter Quist handily won election to his first selectman’s term by 124 votes. But former town administrator Ellen Miller, who was running as a write-in candidate for Finance Committee, also received 17 write-in votes for selectman. Miller had retired from her job, after a dispute with the majority of the Board of Selectmen, that resulted in Miller’s being placed on a paid leave of absence before she retired.

School Building Committee Chairwoman Susan Zavotka won a three-year seat on the School Committee with 82 votes, with write-in candidate Jeff Parent picking up 44 votes. Incumbent Constable Robert Dykeman wasn’t on the ballot, but he was seeking re-election as a write-in; he received 39 votes to the 31 cast for retired police chief Henry Dandeneau.

A vacant Finance Committee position, for three years, went to Raymond Wilson, with 91 votes, with Miller picking up 46 votes and other write-ins getting a combined 17 votes. For the second Finance Committee seat, also for three years, voters gave write-in Mitchell Soviecke 89 votes, with former selectman Paul McLatchy III picking up 36 write-in votes. All other write-ins picked up 20 votes combined.

Incumbent Planning Board member JoAnn Brown, Assessors Chairman Frederick “Rick” Williams and Town Clerk Jennifer Morse were each re-elected for another term. Brown was also re-elected to the Board of Health.

Earl Carlow was elected to the Cemetery Commission for three years. Write-in candidate Laurie Pike was elected park commissioner with 57 votes; the next closest write-in was Loretta Dionne, with 37 votes.

Kelle Quist was elected to a Library Trustee’s position, with 64 write-in votes.

The town supported a ballot question, 110 to 41, in favor of having an appointed town treasurer’s position. But if that measure hadn’t been approved, former FinCom member Myra Carlow would have won election to that post, by 69 votes to 29 cast for McLatchy III.

You can reach Diane Broncaccio at: dbroncaccio@recorder.com or 413-772-0261, ext. 277

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.