Facey over Fritz, 95-40

LEYDEN — Warren Facey Jr. will return to the Planning Board, after beating former Selectman Lance Fritz in Saturday’s election.

Voters picked Facey 95-40 over Fritz for the five-year seat. Facey had served on the board until last year’s election.

William Harris will keep his spot on the Planning Board, after winning 82-48 over Andrew Baker for a two-year seat. Harris had been appointed to the position after a mid-term resignation. Baker had also been serving on the board, in a five-year elected seat that expired this year.

Voters approved a ballot question to make the tax collector an appointed, rather than elected, position, in a 83-32 vote. The change will take effect next May, at the end of Roxanne Zimmerman’s three-year term.

Of the town’s 543 registered voters, 141, or about 26 percent, cast ballots Saturday.

Re-elected to three-year seats were: Selectman William Glabach, Assessor Robert DePalma, Constable Erik Johnson and Library Trustee Cornelia Reid. Ellen White was elected to a three-year term on the Board of Health, and Katherine DiMatteo was re-elected to a one-year term as moderator.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.