Hi 14° | Lo -8°

Conway voters to weigh tax surcharge for preservation funds

CONWAY — At the annual town election on Thursday, townspeople will be asked to support a tax increase for the Community Preservation Act money.

The town is being asked to move from a 1.5 percent community to a 3 percent community with a full-state match.

For a median assessed home valued at $274,500, the tax rate would increase by $16. The CPA surcharge would increase from $60 to $76. It would be effective July 1. The money would support projects related to historic preservation, housing, open space and recreation. There would also be an exemption from the property tax surcharge for the first $100,000 of the value of each home.

There will be plenty of familiar names on this year’s election ballot. The election has no contests.

Selectman John O’Rourke, 155 Mathews Road, is seeking another three-year term.

Malcolm Corse, 288 Truce Road, is seeking another run as assessor.

Ann Taylor Gibson of 292 Thompson Road and William McLoughlin of 307 Williamsburg Road are vying for two seats on the Board of Health.

Philip Kantor of 12 River St. and Janice Warner are seeking re-election to the Conway Grammar School Committee.

David Barten of 194 Upper Baptist Hill Road and Joseph Strzegowski of 362 Reeds Bridge Road are seeking re-election to the Planning Board for a three-year term.

Mary A. McClintock, 929 South Deerfield Road, is running for a one-year seat on the Planning Board.

J. Nicholas Filler, 455 Mathews Road, is seeking re-election as moderator.

Collin Burt, 111 Williamsburg Road, is running for tree warden.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.