Hi 39° | Lo 20°

Buckland voters support debt exclusions

Buckland town selectman Kevin Fox votes at the town hall on Monday.
Recorder/Micky Bedell

Buckland town selectman Kevin Fox votes at the town hall on Monday. Recorder/Micky Bedell Purchase photo reprints »

BUCKLAND — Voters on Monday said “yes” to two debt-exclusion questions to finance the town’s share of borrowing to make building improvements at both the Mohawk Trail Regional School and at Buckland Shelburne Elementary School.

The vote for Question 1 in the annual town election ballot was 54 to 25, while the vote for Question 2 was 55 to 23.

The total capital request for the high school, $542,778, will be shared by Mohawk’s eight member towns. The BSE school repairs, estimated to cost $783,900, would be shared by Buckland and Shelburne.

These articles will also appear on the annual town meeting warrant for May 7.

A total 7.8 percent of voters turned out to cast a ballot, or 82 of 1,048 registered voters.

Planning Board member John “Rob” Riggan was elected to fill the selectmen’s seat in an uncontested race. He will replace Selectman Robert Dean, who is not running for a third term.

Riggan, a novelist and former journalist, has lived in town for nine years. Riggan is currently on the Planning Board and on the board of the Shelburne Falls Fire District. He has also served for two years on the town’s Finance Committee and was president of the board of Falls Cable TV.

Glenn Cardinal, chairman of the town’s Internet Access Committee, was elected to a three-year term on the Mohawk Trail Regional School Committee.

The following incumbents were all re-elected for three-year terms unless otherwise noted: Town Clerk Janice Purington; Assessor Pamela Guyette; Board of Health Terry Estes; Constable Robert Howson; Finance Committee member Benjamin Murray; Moderator Phoebe Walker (one-year ); and Buckland Library Trustee Amy Love.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.