Ashfield town official won’t seek re-election

ASHFIELD — Paullette Leukhardt will not be running for re-election to the Selectboard in May, but Todd Olanyk has thrown his hat in the ring.

Both incumbent Leukhardt and Olanyk were nominated for the Selectboard seat at this week’s annual caucus, but Leukhardt asked that her name be withdrawn.

The town holds an annual election caucus in which voters are allowed to nominate residents for office and vote for up to two candidates per office to run in the annual election. This is a time-saver for caucus candidates, who would otherwise have to gather 25 voter signatures and file nomination papers by the deadline — Friday at 5 p.m.

However, anyone who still wants to run for office can get nomination papers from the town clerk’s office and turn them in by Friday afternoon.

At this point, there are no contests in this year’s election.

Here’s who’s running for office: One-year positions: moderator, Buz Eisenberg; tree warden, Thomas Poissant. Three-year positions: Selectboard, Todd Olanyk; Finance Committee, incumbents Ricki Carroll and Thomas Schreiber; park commissioner (two posts), Kyle Taylor and Roberta Evans.

Two three-year assessor positions — incumbent Wayne Gardner and new candidate Donna Sarro. Also, former Assessor Rick Chandler is running for election to a one-year unexpired term on the Board of Assessors, which has been held by Peter Wiitanen.

Five-year positions: Planning Board, incumbent Chairman Michael Fitzgerald; library trustee, incumbent, Renee Rastorfer.

For the Sewer Commission, Mary Link was nominated for a two-year term, and appointee Daniel Lovett for a three-year term. A second two-year term had no nominees.

The annual town election takes place on May 3.

There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.